• Bookmark this page

The Best Guide for the Neston Area

Neston news, reviews and local events in Neston areas including Little Neston, Parkgate, Willaston, and communities in Neston.

Calendar of
Upcoming Events
Gordale Garden and Home Centre

Business Reviews

Testimonials

"For lots of residents, AMA is the main source of news and info about Neston happenings, as we hardly ever get a local free paper now, and the Chester/Liverpool/ Wirral newspapers don't always have sp..." more
- Ina B
Loading...

Easy Access

28 Aug 2019 - Talk & Book Signing With George Alagiah

Published: 10th July 2019 18:44

Linghams Booksellers are thrilled to be hosting BBC1 news presenter George Alagiah at Birkenhead School in Oxton, this August.

George Alagiah

Before becoming the presenter of BBC News at Six, George Alagiah was known for his work as one of the BBC's foreign correspondents. He covered the genocide in Rwanda, civil wars in Afghanistan and Liberia, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission in South Africa and the 9/11 terror attacks on New York, winning numerous awards for his coverage, from Amnesty International and The Royal Television Society among others.

Prior to joining the BBC in 1989, Alagiah worked in print journalism for seven years. In 2008 he was awarded the OBE for services to journalism.

The Burning Land is George Alagiah's first work of fiction and sees him delve into the spaces between the despatches he has brought to the nation as a reporter. He has published two works of non-fiction: A Passage to Africa (2001) and Home from Home (2006).

This is the exhilarating debut novel from the much-loved, award-winning BBC broadcaster. His two works of nonfiction -A Passage to Africa and A Home From Homehave sold 39,500 and 14,000 respectively through TCM
Perfect for fans of John Le Carré's The Constant Gardener, Gillian Slovo's Red Dust and Andrew Marr's Head of State and Children of the Master.

Reviews:

'Praise for George Alagiah: Courageous, controversial, compassionate' - Daily Mail

'Without rhetoric or rancour, his eloquent book places these issues in their true context, and frames some of the major moral questions of our time' - Independent

'An optimistic book suffused with Alagiah's outraged humanity' - Observer

'The emphatic authority that George Alagiah has brought to his reports from Africa for BBC News is just as strong a component of his book' - The Times

Book Synopsis:

‘It was never meant to be like this. Sabotage, yes. Propaganda, yes. All of that and more -but not this. Not murder.'

As greed and corruption taint the optimism of a nation, the political becomes deeply personal for former childhood friends, Lindi and Kagiso. Their beloved home country, South Africa, is rapidly turning into a powder keg, as nations fight for ownership of its land and resources. With the murder of one of the nation's bright young hopes, the fuse is well and truly lit.

As the hunt for his killer intensifies, Lindi and Kagiso come together to protect the land and people they love; even as events are set in motion that no one - least of all they - can control.

Wednesday 28 August 2019, 7 - 9.30pm

Bushell Hall
Birkenhead School
58 Beresford Road
Oxton
Wirral
CH43 2JD

Tickets available here

Linghams Booksellers

Related Content:

Talk & Signing with Max Hastings - 17 September 2019

 

Bookmark and Share

Report this article as inappropriate

Comments

You need to log in before you can do that! It's only a quick registration process to join the AMA network and completely free.

Sign in or join now to post a comment
Find a Local Business Get the CH64 Newsletter!
Loading...
Back to Top
© Copyright 2005-2019 AboutMyArea

AboutMyArea Privacy Policy

CH64: Neston Home | News | Community | Business Directory | Villages in CH64 | Council & MP Matters | Local Services | Shop, Eat, Drink & Stay in Neston | Lifestyle | Your Photos | Things To Do In Neston | Advertise & Contribute | Best of Neston & CH64 | Who, When, Why? | Neston News Archive | Contact Us
AboutMyArea: Home | Site Map | Contact AboutMyArea | Terms & Conditions | Community Guidelines | Franchise Opportunity | Help

About Cookies