• Bookmark this page

The Best Guide for the NR20 Area

NR20 news, reviews and local events in NR20 areas including Astley, Bawdeswell, Beetley, and communities in NR20. Are these places the most relevant to this postcode? Let us know!

Calendar of
Upcoming Events

Lundqvist receives BRDC British F3 Championship trophy at Silverstone

Author: Richard Randle Published: 14th October 2018 18:08
Linus Lundqvist was presented with the BRDC British F3 Championship trophy at SilverstoneLinus Lundqvist was presented with the BRDC British F3 Championship trophy at Silverstone
Linus Lundqvist was presented with the BRDC British F3 Championship trophy at Silverstone this afternoon (Sunday 14th October 2018), after securing the title in yesterday’s contest, while Nicolai Kjaergaard and Kush Maini secured second and third in the standings.

Making Lundqvist’s weekend even more special was the confirmation that the Swede will drive in the world-renowned Rolex 24 at Daytona in January next year, after winning the Sunoco Whelen Challenge, and also winning the Jack Cavill Pole Position Cup.

Racing washout
Near non-stop rain and large areas of standing water on the surface meant racing was almost non-existent today. Race two saw two laps completed behind the safety car before the red flags were shown, with Lanan Racing’s Josh Mason declared the winner. Meanwhile, the final race of the year wasn’t run at all after race organisers MotorSport Vision Racing made the call to abandon the meeting, with conditions unrelenting.

Lundqvist’s title and championship top-five confirmed
Double R's Lundqvist claimed the title with a total of seven wins, two more than any other driver, with his win yesterday securing him the championship. He ultimately finished 85 points clear of Carlin’s Kjaergaard, who claimed second overall with five wins and five additional podiums. Lanan Racing’s Maini ensured three teams were represented in the championship top-three, with his sole win coming at Rockingham, but securing seven other podiums to underline his strong campaign. BRDC President, Paddy Hopkirk, presented the top-three with their championship trophies in a special presentation ceremony this afternoon.

Double R Racing’s Krishnaraaj Mahadik and Fortec Motorsport’s Tom Gamble completed the championship top five. Mahadik claimed five podiums this season, while Gamble took two wins in his first year in single seaters, with his efforts resulting in him being named a finalist in the McLaren Autosport BRDC Award. The top five all receive FIA Superlicence points.

Lundqvist commented: “The BRDC British F3 title is a very prestigious one to win, and when you look at who else has won it before, it is a real honour to be among those names. I’m the third Swede ever to win this championship so I’m among a very fine list of champions, which is really cool.

“There’s been two standout points, the first one is the first race of the year at Oulton Park. Considering everything the team and I went through in the weeks before that, and it was probably my most emotional win. To start off there and put a benchmark down for the rest of the year, that was key. Then came the weekend at Spa with the double win, that was a really special weekend as well. And then yesterday, when we actually won the championship really capped it off.

“We will see regards my future, motorsport is heavily influenced by finance and budgets, but this definitely helps to have the title in the bag so hopefully I’ll be in an international Formula 3 category next year, I’m very hopeful.

“I think one of the best things is that last year we had a lot of very high points but also a lot of very low points in British F4. I think I’ve found out what the problems were there and I’ve worked on my weaknesses and turned them into strengths this year, so I think that’s one of the best things. I’ve kept on improving, and looking at Donington for example, we had a low, found out what the problem was and I tried to erase my mistakes, learned from them and bounced back at Silverstone. Overall I’ve just grown as a driver.”

Lundqvist wins a date at Daytona and Jack Cavill Pole Position Cup
Not only did Lundqvist secure the championship title, but he also claimed the Sunoco Whelen Challenge, which BRDC British F3 drivers became eligible for this year.

British F3 drivers have been up against contenders from British GT and the Radical Masters SR8 championship, and Lundqvist’s race one pole and victory raised his season average score enough to put him back on top of the standings for the award, and now receives a fully funded race seat at the 2019 Rolex 24 at Daytona, courtesy of Whelen.

Lundqvist said: “Going to Daytona is incredible, I’ve never even been to the States to start with! So just being over there, doing my first endurance race and sharing the car with two or three other people will be a totally different experience and from what I’ve heard it’s a really fun thing to do and I’ll learn a lot and it will be an amazing experience.”

Lundqvist’s four pole positions this year ensured he won the 2018 Jack Cavill Pole Position Cup, and means he has taken a clean sweep of every end of season award he could have won. Lundqvist’s two poles this weekend earned him a total of £300 as part of the prize package, while his end of year tally secured him the overall prize of £1,000. The David Poole-Warren Pole Position Cup was awarded to Lundqvist’s Double R Racing, with the team also winning £1,000 from award founder John Cavill.

Lundqvist commented: “I could spend it all on a celebration! We’ll see, I haven’t had chance to think about it all that much, but it will be a useful addition to the bank account for the racing next year!”

BRDC British F3 Championship, final standings:
1. Linus Lundqvist, Double R Racing, 531pts
2. Nicolai Kjaergaard, Carlin, 446pts
3. Kush Maini, Lanan Racing, 366pts
4. Krishnaraaj Mahadik, Double R Racing, 358pts
5. Tom Gamble, Fortec Motorsports, 346pts
6. Billy Monger, Carlin, 301pts
7. Manuel Maldonado, Fortec Motorsports, 292pts
8. Jamie Chadwick, Douglas Motorsport, 260pts
9. Sasakorn Chaimongkol, Hillspeed, 242pts
10. Sun Yue Yang, Carlin, 240pts

For more championship information visit www.britishf3.com.  
Bookmark and Share

Report this article as inappropriate


You need to log in before you can do that! It's only a quick registration process to join the AMA network and completely free.

Sign in or join now to post a comment
Find a Local Business Get the NR20 Newsletter!
Back to Top
© Copyright 2005-2024 AboutMyArea

AboutMyArea Privacy Policy

NR20: NR20 Home | News | Community | Business Directory | Contact Us
AboutMyArea: Home | Site Map | Contact AboutMyArea | Terms & Conditions | Community Guidelines | Business Opportunity | Help

About Cookies