• Bookmark this page

The Best Guide for the CV21 Area

CV21 news, reviews and local events in CV21 areas including Rugby, Hillmorton, New Bilton, and communities in CV21.

Calendar of
Upcoming Events
Carter & King Estate Agents


"Brian, You are a STAR!....the feature article looks and reads brilliantly!"
- Russ Ward - Watch Manager, Warwickshire Fire & Rescue Service

Easy Access

Rugby Town FC Annual Award Presentation 2011/2012

Author: Jon Venner Published: 24th May 2012 11:41

Rugby Town FC Annual Award Presentation 2011/2012

Midfielder Robbie Banks was the big winner at Rugby Town FC's annual presentation evening last Friday, scooping three of the six main first team player awards.

Banks joined Valley from Atherstone last September and went on to put in a series of consistent performances in his first season at Butlin Road.

He came top in both the supporters' and the Vice Presidents' vote, as well as taking the Media Star Man award - given to the player with the most man of the match nominations across the season.

Striker Tyrone Fagan got the nod from Dave Stringer to scoop the Manager's Player of the Year trophy, with Luke Keen and Gary Moran winning the Golden Boot and the Bob Giles Shield for topping the goalscoring and starting appearance charts respectively.

Bob's family presented the appearance award to Gary in memory of the long-standing supporter who passed away in September 2010, with another friend of the club who sadly died this season - Carl Barnes - also honoured on the evening with the presentation of a Memorial Shield to the club by Carl's family.

This new prize was accepted on behalf of the club by defender Moran and supporter Martin Defferd, and will be awarded for the first time at the end of next season to recognise an as yet undefined achievement.

The Call-A-Car award for commitment went to Lynval da Costa and the Clubman of the Year was Jim Dand.

The club's youth team player of the year awards were also presented at the event in the VS Bar - with Ryan Evans being the choice of manager Roy Miller, Nick Vangelidis winning the award from his fellow players and Aaron Hinds topping the fans' poll.

The team had a successful season, finishing runners-up in the Central Division of the Midland Floodlit Youth League.

Club Director Mike Yeats thanked everyone for their contribution and support during a season which saw Town narrowly miss out on a place in the play-offs for promotion the Southern League Premier Division for the second year in a row, and looked forward to the 2012-13 campaign which he hoped would see the club regain their status at Step Three of the non-league football pyramid.


First Team Awards
Manager's Player of the YearTyrone Fagan
Vice Presidents' Player of the YearRobbie Banks
Kit Dand Memorial Supporters' Player of the YearRobbie Banks
Media Star ManRobbie Banks
Golden BootLuke Keen
Call-a-Car Commitment AwardLynval Da Costa
Bob Giles Memorial Appearances TrophyGary Moran




Club Awards
Clubman of the YearJim Dand 
Young Supporter of the YearSam Dunmore 
Youth Team
Manager's Player of the YearRyan Evans 
Players' Player of the YearNick Evangelidis 
Supporters' Player of the YearAaron Hinds


Bookmark and Share

Report this article as inappropriate


You need to log in before you can do that! It's only a quick registration process to join the AMA network and completely free.

Sign in or join now to post a comment
Find a Local Business Get the CV21 Newsletter!
Back to Top
© Copyright 2005-2019 AboutMyArea

AboutMyArea Privacy Policy

CV21: CV21 Home | News | Community | Classifieds | Business Directory | Sports & Fitness | Job Vacancies | Business News & Services | Property | Motoring | Hair & Beauty | Wedding Section | Food & Drink | Kids & Family | Money & Finances | Public Transport | Archive | Contact Us
AboutMyArea: Home | Site Map | Contact AboutMyArea | Terms & Conditions | Community Guidelines | Franchise Opportunity | Help

About Cookies